Enemy Pie Review

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Uncategorized

Enemy PieEnemy Pie by Derek Munson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Enemy Pie by Derek Munsun is an excellent book about getting along with others for children in grades K-3. The main character is being bullied by a boy named Jeremy. He has decided that Jeremy is his enemy. His father decides to try to help, telling him about the “Enemy Pie” guaranteed to make enemies disapear. To make it work there are rules though.
This book is very well written and approaches the subject of bullying in a very delicate and poignant way. The illustrations by Tara Calahan King are very appealing too.
This is definitely a book to borrow from the library and share with someone who is being bullied at school or elsewhere in life.

View all my reviews

Review Blurbs

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Uncategorized

The House of Silk by Anthony Horowitz 4.5 Stars.  Brand new Sherlock Holmes Story does not disapoint!

Breakfast of Champions by Kurt Vonnegut 3.5 stars.  Weird but I did enjoy it.

Mr. Monk goes to the Firehouse by Lee Golddberg.  Just like an episode of Monk.  A lot of fun.

Currently reading: Heat Rises by Richard Castle.

Looking for Alaska Review

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Uncategorized
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Looking for AlaskaLooking for Alaska by John Green
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

John Green really is an excellent author. In his first book he tells the story of Miles and the experiences he has at a private school. He makes two important friends, Alaska and The Colonel. Miles arrives at a new school to live up to the legacy of his father who also went to the school. He never had many real friends in Florida and wanted a change in scenery. He becomes very close friends with Chip and with Alaska. The three of them experiment with smoking and drinking and get into lots of other high school mischief. Looking for Alaska falls in the tradition of classic works such as The Catcher in the Rye as it tells a raw story of teenagers growing up and dealing with the loves and losses of life.
While this is not my favorite John Green ( Paper Towns) I think it is my second favorite.

View all my reviews

Review: Puppy Pirates: Catnapped!

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Uncategorized
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Puppy Pirates #3: Catnapped!Puppy Pirates #3: Catnapped! by Erin Soderberg

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A copy was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review

Catnapped! By Erin Soderberg is the 3rd book in the Puppy Pirates series for young readers. Perfect for late second and third grade readers, “Catnapped!”has the perfect blend of easy reading and humor. The Puppy Pirates books take place in a world where there are cat and dog pirates.  Humans seem to be rare but they do exist.  There is a boy named Henry who is allied with the puppies.  After the puppies play a prank on the cats, the pirate cats kidnap four members of the puppies crew:  Henry, Puggly, Spike and Wally.  The Pirate dogs must set out to rescue them.  But they must learn there is a price for trusting pirates.  

This is a series that will be adored by young boys and girls. It has the pirate and action element that boys really like and it has the puppy and kitten aspect that appeals to girls at that age.
I definitely recommend librarians buy this series for your collection.

View all my reviews

Burning Midnight Review

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Uncategorized
Burning Midnight Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Burning MidnightBurning Midnight by Will McIntosh
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A copy was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Burning Midnight by Willl McIntosh is a high octane thriller that will appeal to fans of The Maze Runner and Pokemon. No one knows where the orbs came from. They have created a high stakes market for collectors with different orbs rated different values. The serious collectors want to “collect them all.” Not only do the different orbs have a variety of values but the different color orbs enhance different qualities in those that burn the orbs. Some make you faster or smarter.
A major collector named Alex Holliday is obsesses see with getting his hands on the very rare gold orb they found. An orb worth millions. But there could be more to the orbs than enhancing qualities and monetary value. The fate of the world is at stake.
Burning Midnight was good. The plot moved fast enough with sacrificing character development.
Verdict: This is a good pick for fans of Pokemon and The Maze Runner.

View all my reviews

Review: Alice in Wonderland

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Uncategorized
Alice in Wonderland on 2015
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover
three-half-stars

Title: Alice in Wonderland Down the Rabbit Hole
Illustrated by Eric Puybaret
Retold by Joe Rhatigan & Charles Nurnberg.
Buy on Amazon:

Alice in Wonderland was first published in 1862. Alice and the other characters of the crazy world from the mind of the brilliant mathematician Charles Dodgson are a part of our culture. In an attempt to introduce young people to this book, the beginning of the novel has been retold as a picture book.
Eric Puybaret has captured the feel of the book and the zaniness of Wonderland with his illustrations. Blending a little of Disney with a little bit of the original illustrations his pictures stand apart on their own.
Be a part of the fun, Alice is turning 150 this year. Share a shortened version of her story with someone special.

three-half-stars

Rise of the Wolf by Jennifer Nielsen

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Uncategorized
Rise of the Wolf Published by Scholastic on January 26,2016
five-stars

A copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Six Stars.

A six star review is reserved for the books that are extra special. This means they are so good that 5 stars is not enough. They are the books that are destined to become a trend. Rise of the Wolf is one of those books.
After Nic’s first adventure in Mark of the Thief, Rome continues to be in danger from within. The Praetors, a faction of powerful people in Rome have captured Nic’s mother. They are trying to force him to use his magic to find the Malice of Mars and make a Jupiter Stone. It begins the impossible choice because if he does, Rome will fall and if he does not, his mother will be killed.
This book moves at breakneck speed, there is so much action. But just like the Harry Potter books, Nielsen is a master at developing characters while still writing a fast moving plot.
I can’t recommend books by Nielsen enough.
Here is a link to buy it on Amazon.

five-stars

Testing Miss Malarkey Review

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Uncategorized
Testing Miss Malarkey on 2000
Buy on Amazon
four-stars

When the school has to prepare for the big test everyone gets anxious. Eventually they will learn it may not be quite as important as they are led to believe.

Testing Miss Malarkey by Judy Finchler is a picture book that is perfect to read to a class or child as we enter the testing season. Schools emphasize standardized tests so much and this story is a little bit of a commentary on our testing society. Miss Malarkey is getting her class ready for the test, as she insists her class does not have to be nervous She is definitely getting more and more anxious herself.
As the test approaches life at the the elementary school becomes very weird as the adults become overwhelmed with anxiety about the test.
Judy Finchler knows how to write a picture book with enough warmth, heart, and humor that it will be enjoyed by adults and children alike.
4 Stars.

four-stars