2 New Reviews

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Uncategorized

Charlie the Ranch Dog: Charlie Goes to the DoctorCharlie the Ranch Dog: Charlie Goes to the Doctor by Ree Drummond
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Easy Reader
Charlie the Ranch Dog Charlie goes to the Doctor is a beginning early reader book about a dog named Charlie. Charlie is not feeling well and has to go to the vet. He is nervous but learns that it is not a big deal and he feels better when he gets home. This is a good book to discuss how animals have to go to the vet and how it’s important for people to visit the doctor. This book is best for late Kindergarten and first grade as it is written specifically for that level of reader.
Early readers are so thin and children progress through the levels at different paces. I think this is a good book to borrow from the library.

View all my reviews


Ink and Bone (The Great Library, #1)Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is the first book in a fantasy series. Jess lives in a world where the library of Alexandria survived. The library itself has a major influence on the governments of the world. It controls information. This is a world where the library of Alexandria survived but there was no printing press invented. Books remain as rare as they were preGuteenberg. Thus they are valuable and a target for smugglers. Jess comes from a family of book smugglers. He gets sent to infiltrate the library in order to steal valuable books for his family to sell.
This book was exciting, the characters were well developed and likable. There are times that it seemed to drag a little and could have been a little shorter. Overall, I think it is worth borrowing from the library.

View all my reviews

Reviews coming Soon… And BookCon

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Uncategorized

I will have more reviews up soon.  I have been very busy with my full time job and have not had as much time to read as I would like lately.

Last week I went to BookCon in Chicago.  It was a ton of fun and I met Alexandra Bracken the author of the Darkest Minds Series.

I read Ink and Bone last week and will hopefully have the review up soon.  I finish school in a few weeks and I look forward to having more time to dedicate to reading.

Currently I’m reading In the After Light by Alexandra Bracken

Enemy Pie Review

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Uncategorized

Enemy PieEnemy Pie by Derek Munson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Enemy Pie by Derek Munsun is an excellent book about getting along with others for children in grades K-3. The main character is being bullied by a boy named Jeremy. He has decided that Jeremy is his enemy. His father decides to try to help, telling him about the “Enemy Pie” guaranteed to make enemies disapear. To make it work there are rules though.
This book is very well written and approaches the subject of bullying in a very delicate and poignant way. The illustrations by Tara Calahan King are very appealing too.
This is definitely a book to borrow from the library and share with someone who is being bullied at school or elsewhere in life.

View all my reviews

Review Blurbs

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Uncategorized

The House of Silk by Anthony Horowitz 4.5 Stars.  Brand new Sherlock Holmes Story does not disapoint!

Breakfast of Champions by Kurt Vonnegut 3.5 stars.  Weird but I did enjoy it.

Mr. Monk goes to the Firehouse by Lee Golddberg.  Just like an episode of Monk.  A lot of fun.

Currently reading: Heat Rises by Richard Castle.

Looking for Alaska Review

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Uncategorized
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Looking for AlaskaLooking for Alaska by John Green
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

John Green really is an excellent author. In his first book he tells the story of Miles and the experiences he has at a private school. He makes two important friends, Alaska and The Colonel. Miles arrives at a new school to live up to the legacy of his father who also went to the school. He never had many real friends in Florida and wanted a change in scenery. He becomes very close friends with Chip and with Alaska. The three of them experiment with smoking and drinking and get into lots of other high school mischief. Looking for Alaska falls in the tradition of classic works such as The Catcher in the Rye as it tells a raw story of teenagers growing up and dealing with the loves and losses of life.
While this is not my favorite John Green ( Paper Towns) I think it is my second favorite.

View all my reviews

Review: Puppy Pirates: Catnapped!

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Uncategorized
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Puppy Pirates #3: Catnapped!Puppy Pirates #3: Catnapped! by Erin Soderberg

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A copy was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review

Catnapped! By Erin Soderberg is the 3rd book in the Puppy Pirates series for young readers. Perfect for late second and third grade readers, “Catnapped!”has the perfect blend of easy reading and humor. The Puppy Pirates books take place in a world where there are cat and dog pirates.  Humans seem to be rare but they do exist.  There is a boy named Henry who is allied with the puppies.  After the puppies play a prank on the cats, the pirate cats kidnap four members of the puppies crew:  Henry, Puggly, Spike and Wally.  The Pirate dogs must set out to rescue them.  But they must learn there is a price for trusting pirates.  

This is a series that will be adored by young boys and girls. It has the pirate and action element that boys really like and it has the puppy and kitten aspect that appeals to girls at that age.
I definitely recommend librarians buy this series for your collection.

View all my reviews

Burning Midnight Review

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Uncategorized
Burning Midnight Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Burning MidnightBurning Midnight by Will McIntosh
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A copy was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Burning Midnight by Willl McIntosh is a high octane thriller that will appeal to fans of The Maze Runner and Pokemon. No one knows where the orbs came from. They have created a high stakes market for collectors with different orbs rated different values. The serious collectors want to “collect them all.” Not only do the different orbs have a variety of values but the different color orbs enhance different qualities in those that burn the orbs. Some make you faster or smarter.
A major collector named Alex Holliday is obsesses see with getting his hands on the very rare gold orb they found. An orb worth millions. But there could be more to the orbs than enhancing qualities and monetary value. The fate of the world is at stake.
Burning Midnight was good. The plot moved fast enough with sacrificing character development.
Verdict: This is a good pick for fans of Pokemon and The Maze Runner.

View all my reviews